Basic Information About Criminal Law
If I am arrested and do not speak English well, do I have a right to an interpreter? The court will provide you with an interpreter in court if you cannot follow the proceedings in English. At McNicholas Law Office, we have several interpreters available for consultations at a very reasonable charge.
Why should I hire you if I can get the public defender for free?
Please keep in mind that although the public defender's office employs highly qualified attorneys to represent criminal defendants, the caseload of each attorney is often so high that the attorney can literally only spend minutes with you in making a potentially life-altering decision. Your life is too important as is your freedom. What you Should Know About Domestic Violence!
Domestic Violence occurs when a person commits a battery upon another to whom he/she: is related by blood or marriage: actually residing; having a dating relationship or, has a child in common or, upon his/her minor child. Under Nevada law, police officers are required to arrest a person when they have probable cause to believe that a person has, within the last 24 hours, committed an act of domestic battery. Further, a person arrested for an act of domestic violence cannot be admitted to bail prior to serving a 12-hour cooling-off period. Penalties and Sentencing In the event the defendant is found guilty of domestic battery, the judge will then decide the appropriate sentence. Before doing so, however, the victim will be given an opportunity to address the court about the defendant and the impact of this crime upon the victim.
A. Penalties For First Offense
*A minimum of 2 days, but not more than 6 months, in the County Jail.
*A minimum of 48 hours, but not more than 120 hours, of community service.
*A minimum fine of $200 plus assessments, but not more than $1,000 plus assessments.
*Participation in weekly domestic violence counseling sessions of not less than 1 ½ hours per week for not less than 6 months, but not more than 12 months, at the defendant's expense. $35 domestic violence assessment fee.
B. Penalties For Second Offense Within Seven Years
*A minimum of 10 days, but not more than 6 months, in the County Jail.
*A minimum of 100 hours, but not more than 200 hours, of community service.
*A minimum fine of $500 plus assessments, but not more than $1,000 plus assessments.
*Participation in weekly domestic violence counseling sessions of not less than 1 ½ hours a week for not less than 12 months at the defendant's expense. $35 domestic violence assessment fee.
C. Penalties For Third Offense Within Seven Years
*A category C felony punishable by a sentence of probation or imprisonment in the Nevada State Prison for not less than 1 year, nor more than 5 years.
*A fine of not more than $10,000.
Facts About Personal Injury Law Suits!
If I have a personal injury suit, do I have to pay the attorney? It depends on the result of the case. Our law office, in personal injury cases, has what is called a "contingency fee agreement." What that means is that our law office would take a percentage of your final settlement or judgment in addition to costs involved in handling your claim as our attorney's fee. Typically, we do not charge you unless you win your case.
How long does it take to settle a personal injury case?
At McNicholas Law Office, we can settle most automobile accidents in 90 days, unless your injuries are serious enough to warrant extensive treatment.